List of Atomic/Nuclear,Hydro,Thermal Power stations in India

By | September 7, 2017

In India, we produce power from Power stations. These power stations are run by using five major sources. They are

  1. Thermal Power Stations(Coal)
  2. Hydroelectric Power stations(Water Reservoirs)
  3. Other Renewable Power stations(Solar & Wind power)
  4. Nuclear Power Stations(Nuclear source)

Here I going to give you list of Power stations in India state wise along with their capacity also. You just go through the tables, I’ll provide you with PDF as soon as possible.

Atomic/Nuclear Power Stations in India:-

Nuclear power stations is the fourth-largest source of electricity in India after Thermal, Hydroelectric and Renewable sources of electricity.

As of 2016, India has 22 nuclear reactors in operation in 8 nuclear power plants, having an installed capacity of 6780 MW and producing a total of 30,292.91GWh of electricity.

While 6 more reactors are under construction and are expected to generate an additional 4,300 MW.

Sr No. Atomic Power Station Name Location State (District)
1. Kundakulam Nuclear Power Plant Kundankulam Tamil Nadu (Tirunelveli)
2. Kakrapar Nuclear power Kakrapar Gujarat (Surat)
3. Narora Nuclear Power Plant Narora Uttar Pradesh(Bulandshahr)
4. Tarapur Atomic power station Tarapur Maharashtra (Thane)
5. Jaitapur Nuclear Power Project Madban Maharashtra (Ratnagiri)
6. Kaiga Nuclear power station Kaiga Karnataka (Uttar Kannada)
7. Gorakhpur Atomic Power Station Fatehabad Haryana (Fatehabad)
8. Rajasthan Atomic Power Station Rawatbhata Rajasthan (Chittorgarh)
9. Mithivirdi nuclear power plant TalajaTaluka Gujarat(Bhavnagar)

Hydro Power Stations State wise in India:-

Hydroelectric power means, we use water speed of a reservoir to rotate turbines. With which we generate Electrical power and later we supply this power.

Hydroelectric power is the Second largest power source for India. India is the 7th largest producer of hydroelectric power in the world.

As of 30 April 2017, India’s installed utility-scale hydroelectric capacity was 44,594 MW, or 13.5% of its total utility power generation capacity.

S.No. Name of Plant River State
1. Koyna Hydro Electric Power plant Koyna Maharashtra
2. Hirakund Hydro Electric Power plant Mahanadi Odisha
3. Idukki Hydro Electric Power plant Periyar Kerala
4. Nagarjuna Hydro Electric Power plant Krishna Andhra Pradesh
5. Tehri Hydro Electric Power plant Bhagirathi Uttarakhand
6. Bhakra Nangal Hydro Electric Power plant Sutlej Himachal Pradesh
7. Sardar Sarovar Hydro Electric Power plant Narmada Gujarat
8. Nathpa Jhakri Hydro Electric Power plant Sutlej Himachal Pradesh
9. Srisailam Hydro Electric Power plant Krishna Andhra Pradesh
10. Indirasagar Hydro Electric Power plant Narmada Madhya Pradesh
11. Sharavathi Hydro Electric Power plant Sharavathi Karnataka
12. Dehar Hydro Electric Power plant Beas Himachal Pradesh
13. Kalinadi Hydro Electric Power plant Kalinadi Karnataka
14. Teesta Hydro Electric Power plant Teesta Sikkim
15. Baira-Siul Hydro Electric Power plant Baira Himachal Pradesh
16. Salal Hydro Electric Power plant  Chenab Jammu and Kashmir
17. Machkund Hydro Electric Power plant Machkund Andhra Pradesh, Orissa


18. Balimela Hydro Electric Power plant Sileru Odisha
19. Subarnarekha Hydro Electric Power plant Subarnarekha Jharkhand
20. Shivanasamudra Hydro Electric Power plant  Kaveri  Karnataka
21. Loktak Hydro Electric Power plant Leimtak Manipur
22. Rihand Hydro Electric Power plant Rihand Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh
23. Rangit Hydro Electric Power plant Rangit Sikkim
24. Bansagar Hydro Electric Power plant Sone Madhya Pradesh
25. Uri Hydro Electric Power plant Jhelum Jammu and Kashmir

Thermal Power Stations in India:-

A Thermal power station is a power plant in which heat energy is converted to electric power.

In most of the places in the world the turbine is steam-driven. There are different types of thermal power plants based on the fuel used to generate the steam such as coal, gas, and Diesel.

Kundakulam Thermal Power Station in India

Kundakulam Thermal Power Station in India

Thermal power is the “largest” source of power in India. About 71% of electricity consumed in India are generated by thermal power plants.

Sr. No. Power Station District State
1. Rihand Thermal Power Station Sonebhadra Uttar Pradesh
2. Singrauli Super Thermal Power Station Sonebhadra Uttar Pradesh
3. Anpara Thermal Power Station Sonebhadra Uttar Pradesh
4. Obra Thermal Power Station Sonebhadra Uttar Pradesh
5. Rosa (TPS) Shahjahanpur Uttar Pradesh
6. Udupi Thermal Power Plant Udupi Karnataka
7. Bellary Thermal Power station Bellary Karnataka
8. MetturTheral Power Station Salem Tamil Nadu
9. Bellary Thermal Power station Bellary Karnataka
10. Simhadri Super Thermal Power Plant Vishakapatnam Andhra Pradesh
11. Chhabra (TPP) Baran Rajasthan
12. Hirakud Captive Power Plant Sambalpur Odisha
13. Talcher Super Thermal Angul Odisha
14. Patratu Thermal Power Station Jaisalmer Jharkhand
15. Bokaro Thermal Power Station Bokaro Jharkhand
16. Durgapur Thermal Power Station Bardhaman West Bengal
17. Barauni Thermal Power Station Begusarai Bihar
18. Vindhyachal Super Thermal Power Station Singrauli Madhya Pradesh
19. SantSingaji (TPP) East Nimar Madhya Pradesh
20. Satpura Thermal Power Station Betul Madhya Pradesh
21 Sanjay Gandhi Thermal Power Station Birsinghpur Madhya Pradesh
22. Mundra Thermal Power Station Kutch Gujarat
23. Ukai Thermal Power Station Tapi Gujarat
24. Sikka Thermal Power Station Jamnagar Gujarat
25. Tirora (TPP) Gondia Maharashtra
26.  Amravati (TPP) Amravati Maharashtra
27. Chandrapur Super (TPP) Chandrapur Maharashtra
28. Khaperkheda Thermal Power Station Nagpur Maharashtra
29. Bhilai Expansion Power Plant Durg Chhattisgarh
30. Sipat Thermal Power Plant Bilaspur Chhattisgarh
31. Korba Super Thermal Power Plant Korba Chhattisgarh

One thought on “List of Atomic/Nuclear,Hydro,Thermal Power stations in India

  1. Pingback: India Rankings in Various/Different Indexes 2016-17-18 PDF

Leave a Reply