List of 29 current chief ministers of Indian states – updated Sept 2017

By | September 13, 2017

How many chief ministers we have?

In the Republic of India, a chief minister is the head of government of each of twenty-nine states and two union territories (Delhi and Puducherry only).

How chief ministers are elected?

According to the Constitution of India, at the state-level, the governor is de jure head, but de facto executive authority rests with the chief minister.

Following elections to the state legislative assembly, the governor usually invites the party (or coalition) with a majority of seats to form the government.

The governor appoints the chief minister, whose council of ministers are collectively responsible to the assembly. Given he has the assembly’s confidence, the chief minister’s term is usually for a maximum of five years;

Note : There are no limits to the number of terms he/she can serve.

Of the thirty-one incumbents, three are women—Mamata Banerjee in West Bengal, Mehbooba Mufti in Jammu and Kashmir, and Vasundhara Raje in Rajasthan.

Things to remember about Chief Ministers:

  1. First Woman Chief Minister of Indian State – Sucheta Kriplani, Uttar Pradesh
  2. Longest serving Chief Minster of Indian state – Jyoti Basu, West Bengal
  3. Longest standing Chief Minister of Indian state (CM who elected max times)  —Pawan Chamling,Sikkim (Elected 5 times in a row from 1994 till 2014). “Will become Logest serving CM by 18th April 2018

List of 29 current Chief Ministers of Indian states

Read More :- GS questions asked in SSC CGL 2017 all days & all shifts


Chief Ministers  Name

Andhra Pradesh Shri. Nara Chandrababu Naidu
Arunachal Pradesh Shri Pema Khandu
Assam Shri Sarbananda Sonowal
Bihar Shri Nitish Kumar
Chhattisgarh Dr. Raman Singh
Goa Shri Manohar Parrikar
Gujarat Shri Vijaybhai R. Rupani
Haryana Shri Manohar Lal
Himachal Pradesh Shri Virbhadra Singh
Jammu and Kashmir Mehbooba Mufti Sayeed
Jharkhand Shri Raghubar Das
Karnataka Shri Siddaramaiah
Kerala Shri Pinarayi Vijayan
Madhya Pradesh Shri Shivraj Singh Chouhan
Maharashtra Shri Devendra Fadnavis
Manipur Shri Nongthombam Biren Singh
Meghalaya Dr. Mukul Sangma
Mizoram Shri Lal Thanhawla
Nagaland Shri Shurhozelie Liezietsu
Odisha Shri Naveen Patnaik
Punjab Shri Amrinder Singh
Rajasthan Smt. Vasundhara Raje
Sikkim Shri Pawan Kumar Chamling

(Elected 5th time as C.M. in a row)

Tamil Nadu Shri Thiru Edappadi K. Palaniswami
Telangana Shri K Chandrasekhar Rao
Tripura Shri Manik Sarkar
Uttar Pradesh Shri Yogi Adityanath
Uttarakhand Shri Trivendra Singh Rawat
West Bengal Km. Mamata Banerjee
Delhi (NCT) Shri Arvind Kejriwal
Puducherry (UT) Shri. V. Narayanasamy

One thought on “List of 29 current chief ministers of Indian states – updated Sept 2017

Leave a Reply