List of 29 current Governors of Indian states – updated Sept 2017

By | September 13, 2017

Who are Governors of States?

In the Republic of India, a governor is the constitutional head of each of the twenty-nine states. Governors are appointed by the President of India for a term of five years, and holds office at the President’s pleasure.

Governors are de jure heads of the state government; all its executive actions are taken in the governor’s name.

The governor appoints the chief minister, whose council of ministers are collectively responsible to the assembly.

However, the governor must act on the advice of the popularly elected council of ministers, headed by the chief minister, who thus hold de facto executive authority at the state-level.

The Constitution of India also empowers the governor to act upon his or her own discretion, such as the ability to appoint or dismiss a ministry, recommend President’s rule, or reserve bills for the President’s assent. Over the years, the exercise of these discretionary powers have given rise to conflict between the elected chief minister and the central government–appointed governor.

Read more : List of 29 current Chief Ministers of Indian States

Governors Eligibility

A governor must:

  • be a citizen of India.
  • be at least thirty-five (35) years old.
  • not be a member of the either house of the parliament or house of the state legislature.
  • not hold any other office of profit.

List of 29 current Governors of Indian states

State Governors of Indian states
Andhra Pradesh Shri E.S Lakshmi Narasimhan
Arunachal Pradesh Shri Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya
Assam Shri Banwarilal Purohit
Bihar Shri Ram Nath Kovind
Chhattisgarh Shri Balramji Dass Tandon
Goa Smt. Mridula Sinha
Gujarat Shri Om Prakash Kohli
Haryana Prof. Kaptan Singh Solanki
Himachal Pradesh Shri Acharya Dev Vrat
Jammu and Kashmir Shri N. N. Vohra
Jharkhand Shrimati Droupadi Murmu
Karnataka Shri Vajubhai Vala
Kerala Shri Justice (Retd.) Palaniswamy Sathasivam
Madhya Pradesh Shri Om Prakash Kohli (Add. Charge)
Maharashtra Shri Chennamaneni Vidyasagar Rao
Manipur Dr. Najma A. Heptulla
Meghalaya Shri Banwarilal Purohit
Mizoram Lt. General (Retd.) Nirbhay Sharma
Nagaland Shri Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya
Odisha Dr. S. C. Jamir
Punjab Shri V.P. Singh Badnore
Rajasthan Shri Kalyan Singh
Sikkim Shri Shriniwas Dadasaheb Patil
Tamil Nadu Shri. Ch. Vidyasagar Rao (Add. Charge)
Telangana Shri E.S Lakshmi Narasimhan (Add. Charge)
Tripura Shri Tathagata Roy
Uttar Pradesh Shri Ram Naik
Uttarakhand Dr. Krishan Kant Paul
West Bengal Shri Keshari Nath Tripathi

One thought on “List of 29 current Governors of Indian states – updated Sept 2017

  1. Pingback: India Rankings in Various/Different Indexes 2016-17-18 PDF

Leave a Reply